In all things…

Hope

In all things I have hope:

when sin seems stronger than my will;
when temptation defeats me;
when I am troubled by the world;
when I am hurt by friends;
when those I trust desert me;
when it feels like I am alone;
when it feels like I am not good enough;
when I just want it all to be over;
when grades aren’t as good as they could be;
when grades aren’t as good as I thought they would be;
when I fail;
when neighbors gossip;
when I gossip;

when schools are attacked;
when innocence is stolen;
when politics is dysfunctional at best, and broken at worst;
when war persists;
when cancer comes;
when Alzheimer’s arrives;
when death knocks on the door and bereavement batters;

when I feel stripped bare, naked and ashamed in the world;
when I have hurt someone;
when I speak inappropriately;
when I withhold my contribution to the world;
when I am have nothing;
when I am unemployed, laid aside, rejected;
when I make bad choices;

when my spirit is crushed.

Hope 2 570x379

In all things I have hope because i can call this to mind:

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases,
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning.
GREAT is your faithfulness.

‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I will hope in him!’

Leave a Reply

